A Life With a Great Dane

Today, I am going to try something different with my posting.  I wish to refine one of my writing techniques.  It has been commented to me that I have a very dry, academic method to my writing.  I would like to take this feedback and to alter or to expand my knowledge.  As I said in an earlier post about my college, it should be evident as to why I spend my time writing with a style that feels like a research source.  So, I am taking up the challenge of changing the writing so that it is similar to a conversational style.  It is said that in a relaxing, comfortable environment that most remove their need to add fluff and large words.  I am going to try this for this posting.

I have a giant dog.  It is my spouse’s Great Dane.  This monster has been with us for nearly four years.  We found him as a rescue dog.  Rescue animals are those that are rescued from cruel situations.  Let me share a little of this before I move on. My spouse has always wanted a Great Dane, but I was against the idea due to my desire not to have to share my house with a horse.  However, I like to make my spouse happy and I came up with one of my greatest ideas.  I suggested that a free Great Dane would be the only way that I could agree to this matter…and three days later, I had a giant dog living in my house.

It took nearly a week for me to recover from this lost battle, but I think that it was because I was laughing at myself over it.  Once that was over, I began a nice, long relationship with this monster.  He became my nemesis at every turn since that time.  In reflection to this back and forth with the dog, I suggested that we name him Odysseus or Ody for short.  I did this because this dog would never outwit me again with tricks like the ones that his namesake was known for.

Now, I have watched this dog start to train his owner by slow habits that benefit him.  When he is ready to eat, he will stand at the dish until someone moves to feed him.  When it is time to go out to the back yard, he taps the glass door with his paw until someone moves to let him out.  I understand that these are usual habits, but it has allowed him to find new way to adjust the humans’ behavior.  When he wants to lay on the couch or chair, he will come to seat and wait for it to be cleared off for him.  Or other times, when he sneaks onto the end of the bed during the night and takes up half the mattress.  Maybe Marmaduke would have been a better name.

In the most recent incident, Ody took his annoying habits to an all-time high by using his paws to pull things off the couch to make room for him.  This, of course, puts all the items on the floor, and it is all for his comfort.  I have spent many times trying to get him to lie on the floor or have him try another spot.  However, it has not been working as a few days ago, and Ody skipped the part of pulling the items off.  He climbed onto the couch and the papers resting on the cushion.  Of course, the part that was really ridiculous was that the other end of the couch was empty.  It was like he was nesting.

Ok…most of this little blog has been tongue-in-cheek.  I thought that my spouse would see that I find the dog to be funny and curious in his habits.  After all of this, I do rather enjoy the dog and his size is growing on me.  It is great to have him about, so I am happy that I lost the original battle.  Or perhaps, I did not lose it.

crudus animus

Tags: , ,

About I Write Irate

For me, this is a personal exploration into a part of me that has been silent for years. It is an opinion. It is an expression. It is who I am. The revelations will come and the patient reader will enjoy the craft displayed. I offer a challenge: Read this and you will come to understand a voice that speaks to the heart of the issue. It can reveal a compassion that some have left behind. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

