Distractions

Distractions are trouble points for all of us.  We all reach into the ether to concentrate on the thoughts or words to express our opinion.  As we try to focus, the world comes to pull our minds away from those opinions.  I have had those days when I cannot get past the distractions of the world.  It can become a true obstacle that causes frustration.  It can also be the moment when the world reminds us that we need not take ourselves so seriously.

In the past, the distractions and constant bombardment of stimuli were not as steady as it is these days.  I remember the afternoons when I could relax with just a radio playing in the background.  I felt my mind expand and explore the reaches of the universe.  I was not under the continuous barrage of information on my brain.  I could step into the quiet and focus on the details of a book or my thoughts.  I believe that most would agree that with the invention of the Internet, we are all under this mental assault that fills us with information.  It is not all bad, but caution should be taken.

For example, how many people these days are in constant communication with someone via cell phones, e-mails, or other device of instant messaging?  I have met a few teenagers that spend nearly every moment of the day sending text messages.  It has become the quickest way to communicate and it has replaced the need to talk to your friends on the phone.  We are evolving into a species that will soon fall into the habits of needing the cell phone or the Internet.

Recently, due to my unemployment, I temporarily lost my internet connection at home.  At first, I was a little peeved that such had happened, but when the income is missing, the luxuries are the first to go.  Only necessities are needed in those times.  Yet, I realized that the connection was more than just a luxury to connect with the Internet.  It was a necessary part of life like water and electricity.  I had a need to continue my search for a job.  I had a need to continue my commitment to some freelance writing.  I had a need to stay connected to the world.  

When this epiphany hit me, I laughed.  I was just as addicted to the needs that are fulfilled by the Internet.  So, I turned my thoughts to the distractions that had been created by this addiction and I began to explore my thoughts again.  It became a struggle to clear away the cobwebs in a mind that was cluttered beyond my expectations.

So, I began this blog to relieve a great deal of the hoarded information and cleanse my mind. It has been the one tool in my toolbox that I have always depended on.  I cannot allow it to become so clogged that it runs out of space or loses its abilities due to disorganization.  It will also allow me to find a proper place for the opinions and understandings.  I can learn to appreciate the moments when I am not distracted.  I can learn to use the distractions to my benefit.

I have found a peace that I hope will continue as I move along the road.  Life has been throwing quite a few curve balls and I have to settle back in the batter’s box to lift the pitch out of the park.  As I have come to this point, I have realized that my younger days may have passed away, but it will not stop my mind from staying young.  I will cling to the hopefulness and desires of life that I had when I was young.

My challenge to the people is to use the distractions as a tool rather than an obstacle.  We are not victims, but we are the true form that Nature has given everything to.  Homo Sapiens is not just a classification for our species.  It is a true statement of what we are…Wise Human Beings.  Don’t fail to make your ancestors proud.

crudus animus

Tags: , ,

About I Write Irate

For me, this is a personal exploration into a part of me that has been silent for years. It is an opinion. It is an expression. It is who I am. The revelations will come and the patient reader will enjoy the craft displayed. I offer a challenge: Read this and you will come to understand a voice that speaks to the heart of the issue. It can reveal a compassion that some have left behind. Enjoy.

2 responses to “Distractions”

  1. jungleintherumble says :

    “We are not victims, but we are the true form that Nature has given everything to.” Well said.

Leave a Reply

