The Gang’s All Here

It has been a few posts since my last conversation about my gaming life.  I feel that I occasionally need to place some of my tales in writing.  It has two effects.  One is that I reveal a deeper perception about the author for the audience.  I have always been fascinated with the biography when I find an author that I truly enjoy.  The experiences of that person begin to appear in their subject matter in a very primal way.  The energies and thoughts permeate the syllables with emotion and philosophy.  The background of the author reflects into the stories and characters as most are writing from their own experiences.

A second effect is the release of my thoughts into my own writing.  Such catharsis clears my mind of gathered thoughts, ideas, and opinions.  As of yet, I have not reached the point when I feel that my writing is enlightened.  I mostly feel that my knowledge is a collection of thoughts and wisdom of others that came before me.  If I have had an original idea or concept, I have filtered it down into the writings of my fictional side.  I would love to share a few of those fictional stories, but I don’t feel that this is a proper forum for them or that they would be protected.  I would only do so if I was asked and for a small party.  At times, I have even felt these original moments appear in the hobby of role playing.  It is this effect that I wish to discuss for the pursuit of self-discovery.

The basics are a place to start.  Most gamers of this generation have come into contact with one form of this hobby.  It is not the mysterious art that geeks learned in the dark rooms of secrecy.  Nor is it the source of great evils.  It is a well-developed art that has had it day of reckoning and revelation to the world.  One of the most popular games that allow the player to take on a role and game in a fantastic setting is the World of Warcraft.  This peak of technology uses the online communities to create an entire culture of gamers.  Through clever marketing and social groups, this form developed into the juggernaut that has pulled in the most casual gamer.  It grew to this level through the evolution of numerous incarnations and has other companies attempting to develop their own version of this successful powerhouse.

For me, the online world of gaming creates a brief temptation, but it is not the game style that I want.  I find the intimate styles of table top gaming to be my true passion.  There is nothing more exciting for me than to sit down with something that I have created and entertain a group of friends.  The interaction is possible in the online environment, but the tactile sensations of the dice, miniatures, or character notes cannot be equaled.  I often consider this a factor in my other need for a hard copy of a book when I am reading.  The feel of the pages and smell of a new book conveys to my memories a marker that is difficult to forget.

I am a part of a slowly fading breed who finds this kind of role playing to be entertaining and intoxicating.  I have found that this activity can bring me to the moments of pure joy.  I relate it to the description that others have given to me. This description is the relaxing state brought by alcohol or marijuana.  It is my drug.  It is a drug to take on the persona of some character and reveal some of your quieter and less expressed traits.  It is a therapy to explore one’s own mind for the deep, dark secrets hiding there.  The understanding of the self expands when you can push yourself into the shell of another personality.

The conflicts of the people at the table are lost.  Everyone enters with baggage, but they never open it.  It is a time for all the players to escape from their lives and embrace the freedom of another life.  The simplest theories of sociology can be tested in these confines.  A few concepts of human nature can be viewed at the table.  As role players, I feel the group participates in a hobby that will draw them together tighter than anything the world can reveal.  Every aspect of life can be confronted.  It is the most amazing experience that I have ever had.

In my early years as a gamer, I brought together a group of friends and introduced them to the hobby.  Some had tried before, but all were learning together for the first time.  For the next five years, that group came together and spread apart with real life pulling at some of us.  Yet, through all those matters, the group of five guys that began held true to each other.  This experience was the most amazing and it has marked my life since.  We are no longer together as our lives moved us to different parts of the country.  However, when I find a group to play with, I look around the table and remember those people.

No other event or activity has ever done that for me to such an extent.  So, when I say that role playing is a journey of self discovery, this is what I refer to.

crudus animus

Tags: , , , ,

About I Write Irate

For me, this is a personal exploration into a part of me that has been silent for years. It is an opinion. It is an expression. It is who I am. The revelations will come and the patient reader will enjoy the craft displayed. I offer a challenge: Read this and you will come to understand a voice that speaks to the heart of the issue. It can reveal a compassion that some have left behind. Enjoy.

6 responses to “The Gang’s All Here”

  1. Alex Jones says :

    Real life gaming has a social element, of dealing directly with human beings rather than faceless animations on a computer screen. This is one of the reasons that I think “table gaming” is better than online gaming.

    The next step up is to try and be the characters on the table in reenactment groups like the Sealed Knot or SCA.

    • I Write Irate says :

      I have tried the LARP a few times and attended a few events in the SCA. It was fun, however, I didn’t get into it. I do like the social aspect of these activities.

  2. jungleintherumble says :

    Good post. As a professional poker player, I spent 20-60 hours/week gaming online against other people. Although, it’s a great way to escape, the lack of social element is lonely.

  3. I Write Irate says :

    I do love the social interaction. Thanks for the comment.

  4. Nate says :

    Great post! I’ve always loved RPGs, though most of my exposure came through video games when I was a kid. Dragon Warrior and Final Fantasy for the NES were some of my first games. And of course, I loved FF7. Knights of the Old Republic was a great game, and World of Warcraft is a lot of fun too. I also really love the Mass Effect games.

    But I agree — as great as those games are, they just don’t compare to tabletop games. My wife and I have been playing D&D with a friend for the last year and a half. I had played before, but only briefly, so we’re all still kind of new to it. It’s a blast though… I’d probably play every night if we could swing it.

    • I Write Irate says :

      I also have a great love for the video games especially the Final Fantasy series and the Knights of the Old Republic. I find this to be a perfect connection with my son who has more time for a vast array of games. I get to live vicariously through him.

      I have been trying to get a group of gamers together for a monthly game and so far we are doing good with the plans. We will see. I miss the weekly games. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

