The Spark in the Night

As a nerd, I have officially been a little behind on some of the most recent television shows. I have turned my attention to fiction writing and the upcoming science fiction and fantasy novels that will be coming out. Usually, I am quite excited about this time of the year with conventions going on and new products being unveiled, but nothing has excited me.  I am growing a little curious about an author named Scott Sigler who has been writing for several years and approached the business from a new direction. He started by writing his stories and reading them through free podcasts. Each episode was a chapter and wraps up the novel after about twenty or so episodes. His universe is called the Sigler-verse and I am interested to try it out. What is also unique is the basis of actually science in his stories. He prides himself on that very fact.

Another author that has been writing for some time is George R.R. Martin and his Game of Thrones.  I know that it has been turned into the HBO show, but I am about to set about reading it for the first time. I am not sure how I feel about it. Mostly, I hesitate because I feel that, as a fan of Robert Jordan and the Wheel of Time, I might be a traitor. However, I could just be crazy.  Fan or not, I will be reading that series soon.

Now, I was stating that I am behind on many things. The last few years of life have been too busy for me to enjoy things.  I am catching up in a big way. I am a bit ashamed that I only recently finished watching Battlestar Galactica.  I was not sure about a reboot as I was a huge fan of the original.  My spouse borrowed the first season and we were hooked. All the seasons were intoxicating and enticing to watch further.  I was eager to watch more and more. In watching it, I started to consider a couple of things.

The first thing was the brutal reality that this small group of people had to live in. I watched the intensity rise with each episode and no one was safe from the harshness of the journey. The main characters were extraordinary and tormented souls. From the leaders to the personnel characters, these main stories gave the overall plot depth and brittle nerves waiting to shatter. I was very pleased with each episode and wept when some of my favorites were lost.  I can only hope to bring that intensity to my own writing. My motto is that no one is safe and there is no happy ending.

Secondly, I was truly thrown off by the element of music playing such a crucial part to the series. Usually in a television show, you expect music to be the tempo of the episodes, but the music became part of the show’s actually plotline and the show’s dénouement. When it was done, I sat back and wondered if that kind of element could be included in my writing.  I am no musician but the thought that music is a universal constant intrigues me.

With that said, I have returned to my writing with the excitement that the world will influence me more and more.  I only hope that I find some way to complete a story before I am gone.  I am well on my way and this place is helping with that goal.

crudus animus

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About I Write Irate

For me, this is a personal exploration into a part of me that has been silent for years. It is an opinion. It is an expression. It is who I am. The revelations will come and the patient reader will enjoy the craft displayed. I offer a challenge: Read this and you will come to understand a voice that speaks to the heart of the issue. It can reveal a compassion that some have left behind. Enjoy.

10 responses to “The Spark in the Night”

  1. Scott Sigler says :

    Hi there. A Google vanity search made this post pop up for me. If you try out my stories, I hope you enjoy them.

    As for GRR Martin, I love that series!

    And Battlestar Galactica is amazing. If you watch the entire series, I advise you to not watch the last hour of the two-hour series finale. Do that, and you’ll walk away happy — the first hour of the finale is some of the most amazing space battle action I’ve ever seen.

    • I Write Irate says :

      My many thanks to you for the comment. I appreciate your feedback on my blog and I will put up a few future posts once I get through some of your novels. I don’t feel entirely qualified to write a review, but it could be a step in the right direction to help me with my own writing. For some time, I have been searching for a vehicle to share my writing with the world. The blog became the first step and your method of podcasting the novels seems to be a serious second step. I must tell you that Sword and Laser’s interview and Chris Hardwick’s podcast put your name on my radar. I appreciate any further feedback that you might have in the future.

  2. Alex Jones says :

    HBO are an amazing source of creative output. Perhaps in time one of your creative writings will appear as an HBO show.

  3. Renard Moreau says :

    [ Smiles ] For the record, people LOVE happy endings.

    Thank you for sharing a part of yourself.

    Where writing is concerned, never give it up!

    • I Write Irate says :

      Happy endings are nice, but even Odysseus could not handle his for long. He had to move on into the next journey. In other words, life is the journey that we take and not the destination we reach. I like happy endings. I just like the continuing story more. Thanks for the comment.

      • Renard Moreau says :

        [ Smiles ] You are welcome, my friend.

        A broader spectrum to your writing should work to your advantage.

        I respect your take on the whole issue.

  4. I Write Irate says :

    I appreciate that. thank

  5. Travel Culture Food says :

    I’ve nominated you for an award. Feel free to accept or not. I’m easy going :D! Cheers! & Congrats!
    TCF<3

Leave a Reply

