A Fair Day For A Wedding

Life has never offered something that comes with rainbows and chocolate rivers, but we are not foolish to dream such joys. The curveballs that are tossed our way can be difficult to connect with, but in the end, they offer a moment of contemplation that few take advantage of. A simple concept of the curveball that is taught to a young baseball player is to relax and wait for it to float. Once it floats, the bat will crush it. I believe that this analogy has reflected in life recently.

This weekend, my best friend will be getting married. He has been in my life for well over twenty years and has left a remarkable influence on my life. I received the invitation from his bride-to-be about six months ago. I, of course, was in the middle of a long stretch of unemployment, so I was unsure that I would be able to attend. It was a little unsettling to know that I would miss his wedding, but I sent my regards at the time.  Through the summer, my spouse and I used all my skills in creative financing, also known as the house budget, to find a way to reach this wedding. At the end of August, it appeared that we might have saved and pinched enough out of the frugal life of the unemployed that I would find a way to San Diego for the wedding.

I was so excited that I spent some time looking for the correct attire and finding the travel plans to fit the budget.  I was not concerned with a job interfering. My spouse’s part time job was open and the matter was set. Then, the curveball left the pitcher’s hand and I knew that this was going to truly be a test of resolve and patience.

Two weeks ago, I was offered a job that started this week including a training period into this Friday night.  I wanted to laugh and cry at the same time.  We were going to miss a big day in my friend’s life and he would have to celebrate this turn in his life without us. So, we will have to wish him the best in the days to come and hope that once the year settled down that we can all meet under our own circumstances.

On that note, we will express our feelings and sentiments to him, his new bride, and all the guests there to celebrate with him. To our best friend and his bride-to-be, we wish you the best in life. It is a wish that can only be given in word until the time comes when we meet again. This day will be marked in your lives forever and know that this part of your family is with you always.

The curveball may come to anyone when they least expect it, but don’t fret about missing it. Let it come and wait patiently until it gently floats over the plate. Give it a swing and find the sweet spot. No matter what…you will find a wonderful life on the other side.

crudus animus

Tags: , , , ,

About I Write Irate

For me, this is a personal exploration into a part of me that has been silent for years. It is an opinion. It is an expression. It is who I am. The revelations will come and the patient reader will enjoy the craft displayed. I offer a challenge: Read this and you will come to understand a voice that speaks to the heart of the issue. It can reveal a compassion that some have left behind. Enjoy.

2 responses to “A Fair Day For A Wedding”

  1. Alex Jones says :

    Good luck in your new chapter in life.

Leave a Reply

