A First And More To Come

Much can be said about the “firsts” in our lives.  Some of them are as sweet as the first taste of chocolate. Others are sour as the cringing feeling of being embarrassed for the first time. Nothing can change that moment as a thin slice of innocence falls away and the maturity of experience shines through. We all learn from our “firsts” experiences and grow with them.

Tonight, I had a first in my life that might sound a little strange. At my age, most have experienced their first concert. A live show can be exciting, thrilling, and quite unexpected. However, many people have their first taste of this experience as a teenage or even in their twenties. I, somehow, waited until I was nearly forty to go to a concert and feel my way through the music.  I know that my reasons for never going to any such event, but tonight, I had a chance to break that mold.

A friend of mine had an extra ticket to see an excellent cover band called the Australian Pink Floyd or Aussie Floyd for short.  It was a large concert hall in Mesa, AZ and the music was intoxicating.  After years of listening to Pink Floyd on the radio or CDs, I was truly impressed at the spirit of the original music and how close this band came to the exact nature of the songs.  That is a credit to the musicians and their respect for the original band and its music. It was a superior experience.

As I sat down to listen and watch, my first feelings were the rippling effects of the sounds pounding out from the speakers. In those moments, it grew from the vibrations of the air until it was a low rumble of the ground below. I was swallowed by sounds of the instruments as each note captured me.  The vocals drew me into the embrace coming from the arms of each song.

I do not say this to simply be descriptive of the music, the talented musicians, or the original sounds of Pink Floyd through this excellent proxy. I want to mark this moment as a chance to open myself to more of the feelings. I want to be free to open myself to the world around me. It is time for me to embrace the freedom that comes with life. I have sheltered myself from the fun and exciting activities of the world. It is a matter of choice and the reasons are fading and thinned by years of unnecessary needs to please others. I want to express myself.

In my mature days, I realize that with this new direction that I can’t just run wild and forget myself. I just simply think that my time in this world has been missing the joy that comes with fun activities. This is a little different from a midlife crisis. I do not wish to be wild to prove my youth as the age piles up. I just want to break free from the restraints set by those before me. It may even give me a chance to find something new.

So, find a way to reach your goals and enjoy life. There is no need to accept the old belief that you can’t have your cake and eat it too.  Break that and have some cake.

crudus animus

Tags: , , ,

About I Write Irate

For me, this is a personal exploration into a part of me that has been silent for years. It is an opinion. It is an expression. It is who I am. The revelations will come and the patient reader will enjoy the craft displayed. I offer a challenge: Read this and you will come to understand a voice that speaks to the heart of the issue. It can reveal a compassion that some have left behind. Enjoy.

2 responses to “A First And More To Come”

  1. The Water Bearer says :

    What a wonderful experience a first concert is! I saw Lenny Kravitz in 1993. It was amazing. Soon will mark another ‘first concert’ for our family, my 16 year old daughter has yet to experience the thrill of live music so I got us both tickets to the Australian Music Festival ‘Soundwave’. I haven’t been to a music festival for years, but when I saw that two of her favourite bands are playing and an old school one I have wanted to see since my teen years I knew we simply had to go. I can’t wait to share this experience with her as due to my anxiety and protective nature she tends to keep to the safer side of life and while I am grateful that she is cautious and not easily led I want her to see that fun can be safe but edgy too. That her old Mum has a relaxed fun side. Great Post!

Leave a Reply

