All That Hope Works For Something

Often, as I consider the future, I am overwhelmed by the emotions of the past. I feel the waves wash over me like a flood that will never again let me breathe. It is crushing at times in ways one might describe as a feeling of depression.  However, the buoyancy of hope and motivation lifts me quickly to the surface. It is there that I can feel the sunshine and its warmth.  Challenges of regrets and everlasting, sharpened pain make me cringe in the darkness of the flood, but it is the lighter thoughts that diminish this feeling.

It has been a poignant year for me as a person and citizen of the world. I have faced the obstacles and barbs of the world.  I have stumbled with my own decisions and their results.  I have dreamt of a future in which several goals have been achieved which led me to set those goals on the horizon.  There is no doubt in me that this year has been one of the most challenging of my personal life.  I must say that if this is how such years end, then I invite the rest to be as much or more so.  I feel success by climbing the mountain.

This particular month has been a battle as I create time from my very odd schedule.  I have so many things that I wish to accomplish, yet it seem that I have been swallowed by life once more. It is in a good way.  Work has been demanding, but it is for a good reason and pays the bills. I have had time to catch up on a hobby of mine, which is reading. I have finished several books that I meant to finish years ago.  Now, I am moving on through fiction to some non-fiction/academic volumes that have been on my list for a while.  As a student of Antiquity, I have found a set of Gibbons volumes on the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire.  A book on the history of early Christianity has found me again.  I am actually able to read a few of those books that my professors suggested. Overall, I am feeling the excitement of learning again.

Next week, I will be celebrating my eighteenth wedding anniversary and I feel that my spouse’s support has never faltered.  That support is a constant source of positive energy with a hint of elegant wisdom and necessary honesty that I need from time to time. I hope that I have provided similar qualities and seek to continue that in the years to come.

As Thanksgiving passes and the month of November draws to a close, I hope to see a bit more of the sunshine and offer my hope that all humanity can find a stable footing for peace and thankfulness.  Seek that moment and use your past to climb toward your dreams.

crudus animus

Tags: , ,

About I Write Irate

For me, this is a personal exploration into a part of me that has been silent for years. It is an opinion. It is an expression. It is who I am. The revelations will come and the patient reader will enjoy the craft displayed. I offer a challenge: Read this and you will come to understand a voice that speaks to the heart of the issue. It can reveal a compassion that some have left behind. Enjoy.

3 responses to “All That Hope Works For Something”

  1. Alex Jones says :

    You have a good attitude to life, which is to your advantage against the challenges of life. Time is precious, use it well.

Leave a Reply

